Aphorisms: Ennui

Posted: January 9, 2011 in ALL POSTS, Aphorisms, Words

Ennui

Full of ennui – that is to say, empty.
– Victor Hugo

Ennui, felt on the proper occasions, is a sign of intelligence.
– Clifton Fadiman

Bore:  who is never unintentionally rude.
– Oscar Wilde

His shortcoming is his long staying
– Lewis L. Lewisohn

Bores bore each other too, but it never seems to teach them anything
– Don Marquis

A bore is someone who persists in holding his own views after we have enlightened him of ours.
– Malcolm Forbes

If at first you do not succeed try, try, not to be a bore
– Franklin P. Jones

As I usually do when I want to get rid of someone whose conversation bores me, I pretend to agree
– Albert Camus

The nice thing about being a celebrity is that when you bore people, they think its their fault.
– Henry Kissinger

The world is a difficult world indeed
And people are hard to suit
And the man who plays the violin
Is a bore to the man with a flute.
– Sir Thomas Beecham

I don’t believe in an afterlife, so I don’t have to spend my whole life fearing hell, or fearing heaven even more.  For whatever the tortures of hell, I thin k the boredom of heaven would be even worse.
–  Isaac Asimov

The most remarkable thing about my mother is that for thirty years she served the family nothing but leftovers. The original meal has never been found.
–  – Calvin Trillon

Man is the only animal that learns by being hypocritical. He pretends to be polite and then, eventually, he becomes polite.
–  – Jean Kerr

Please tell me what you Think. I won't know unless you comment.

